Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master's in Architecture

University of Oulu · Oulu School of Architecture · Oulu, Finland

Official award
Master of Science (Architecture)MSc
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for Finland
Format
On campus2 years, 120 credits, on campus
Tuition
€14,000per year, Academic year as published October 2026

About this program

A two-year, 120-credit design-oriented master's with project-based learning and a focus on wood construction and design, architectural lighting design and urban design in Nordic conditions; ten study places.

Intended audience: A design-driven individual with a passion for architecture and sustainable building who thrives in multicultural settings.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Oulu School of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
The university states the degree is an architect's professional degree giving the right to practise in Finland and the EU under national laws.“The degree awarded is an architect’s professional degree, providing the right to practice the architect’s profession in Finland and the European Union according to the national laws and decrees.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)2 years, 120 credits120Not captured from the programme page.Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Stated by the schoolUniversity of Oulu (school statement on EU-notified professional degree)Eligibility toward registrationOther statusFI

    Scope: University states the degree is an architect's professional degree giving the right to practise in Finland and the EU according to national laws and decrees.

    Further requirements: Subject to national laws and decrees of each country.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
2 years, 120 credits, on campus
Credits
120 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Campus attendance
Teaching mode: on campus.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Oulu

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
Taught in EnglishAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published
Deadlines
  • Joint application period 07.01.2027 - 21.01.2027 · 2027
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition fee for non-EU/EEA studentsTuition€14,000per year, Academic year as published October 2026for non-EU/EEA students19 October 2026Source

Calculated tuition total: €28,000 (International students). Calculated from published annual tuition for Academic year as published October 2026 x 2 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Tuition-fee waiver for 2nd year of study Tuition waiver

    Basis not stated · 40 % tuition-fee waiver · Second year of study

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 19 October 2026)

Suggest a correction