Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture

University of Minnesota, Twin Cities · School of Architecture, College of Design · Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campusthree-year curriculum for applicants with non-architecture backgrounds
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Accredited professional master of architecture with a three-year track for applicants without a pre-professional architecture degree and a shorter track for those with one.

Subject
Architecture
Department
School of Architecture, College of Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
The school describes the M.Arch as a professional degree accredited by NAAB.“The M.Arch program is a professional degree, accredited by the National Architecture Accrediting Board.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Depends on route
Applicants without an architecture degree
Yes
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior degree in another subjectthree-year curriculum (plus a six-week summer course for non-architecture backgrounds)90non-preprofessional degreeSource
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)Not published59preprofessional degreeSource

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture, both tracks listed on the school accreditation page, Twin Cities campus (NAAB Program Directory entry: University of Minnesota, Master of Architecture; status "Accredited"; last reaffirmation 2024; next team visit 2032)

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2031

  • Stated by the schoolNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: School accreditation page lists M.Arch (preprofessional degree + 59 graduate credits) and M.Arch (non-preprofessional degree + 90 credits) as NAAB-accredited; next visit 2032

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
three-year curriculum for applicants with non-architecture backgrounds
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Twin Cities campus (Rapson Hall)89 Church Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.

Sources and how this was checked