Research doctorate (PhD)
Ph.D. in Architecture
University of Michigan · A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning · Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
- Official award
- Ph.D. in ArchitecturePhD
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Research doctorate established in 1969, with about 40 course credits, doctoral examinations and a dissertation; four years of residence are funded.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page describes original dissertation research leading to the Ph.D.“Students embarking on a doctorate conduct original research”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Credits
- 40 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Thesis or dissertation
- Dissertation proposal defended at end of third year
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Ann Arbor campus (Taubman College)2000 Bonisteel Boulevard, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2069
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning
- Research proposal
- Students defend their dissertation proposal in a public defense at the end of the third year
- Residency expectations
- Four years normally spent in residence
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Doctoral funding Stipend
Basis not stated · tuition, stipend, and benefits · four years, plus two additional years of tuition benefit
Eligibility: Doctoral students during the four years normally spent in residence
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)