Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Philosophy - Architecture, Building and Planning

The University of Melbourne · Melbourne School of Design · Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Philosophy - Architecture, Building and PlanningMPhil
Pathway
Not classifiedStated for Australia
Format
On campus2 years full time / 4 years part time (maximum); expected candidature 1.5 years full time or part-time equivalent
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Research master's at the Melbourne School of Design on built environment topics.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Melbourne School of Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional status of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the degree name.
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time, Part-time
Duration
2 years full time / 4 years part time (maximum); expected candidature 1.5 years full time or part-time equivalent
Campus attendance
On campus (Parkville)
Intakes
Flexible
Campus
Parkville campus

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction