Bachelor’s degree
Bachelor of Architecture
University of Maine at Augusta · Department of Architecture, College of Arts & Sciences · Augusta, Maine, United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of ArchitectureB.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus150 undergraduate credits (five-year professional degree)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Five-year NAAB-accredited professional B.Arch described as the only professional architecture degree in Maine, with a small entering class and community-engaged studios.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architecture, College of Arts & Sciences
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- UMA states the B.Arch is fully NAAB-accredited and prepares graduates to be eligible for licensure in Maine; NAAB directory lists it as accredited.“The UMA Bachelor of Architecture program is fully accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- The program prepares students to be eligible for licensure in Maine; other states have their own requirements (see UMS State Authorization & Licensure page).Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | five-year professional degree | 150 | high school diploma or GED plus design document submissionSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Bachelor of Architecture, University of Maine at Augusta (NAAB program record). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2029-12-31.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2029
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 150 undergraduate credits (five-year professional degree)
- Credits
- 150 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Augusta campus46 University Drive
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredDesign Document Submission; SAT scores are not required.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- High school diploma or GED
- Documents
- UMA application form, two letters of recommendation, design document submission
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)