Research doctorate (PhD)
Doctor of Philosophy - Doktoratsstudium Architektur
University of Innsbruck · Faculty of Architecture · Innsbruck, Tirol, Austria
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in ArchitecturePhD
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for Austria
- Format
- On campusRegeldauer von 3 Jahren
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Three-year PhD (180 ECTS) combining 30 ECTS of modules with a 150-ECTS dissertation; the faculty accepts academic, creative-artistic and practice-based research formats.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Faculty of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- Research doctorate completed with a dissertation and defence.“Das „Doctor of Philosophy“ - Doktoratsstudium Architektur ist auf eine Regeldauer von 3 Jahren ausgerichtet und umfasst Pflicht- und Wahlmodule im Ausmaß von 30 ECTS-Punkten, das Verfassen einer Dissertation im Umfang von 150 ECTS-Punkten und die Dissertationsverteidigung / Rigorosum.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Regeldauer von 3 Jahren
- Credits
- 180 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- University of Innsbruck - Faculty of Architecture
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- UNCONFIRMED: the doctoral pages print no teaching or thesis language; German reflects the language of the faculty page and should be verified.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- Fakultät für Architektur
- Finding a supervisor
- Formulate a dissertation topic within the supervisor's research area and name a supervisor or team.
- Research proposal
- Exposé registering topic and supervisor, plus a dissertation agreement.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)