Integrated (single-cycle) qualification
MArch Architecture and Urbanism
University of Hertfordshire · School of Creative Arts · Hatfield, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- MArch Architecture and Urbanism (integrated master's, UCAS K101)MArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campusFour-year integrated master's degree
- Tuition
- £10,050per year, 2027/28
About this program
Four-year integrated master's in architecture and urbanism combining urban strategy with building design, with design studio making up half the credits each year.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Creative Arts
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Integrated (single-cycle) qualificationA single-cycle qualification entered from secondary school that the national system treats as master’s-level. It is not forced into the bachelor’s or master’s lists: the official level and entry route are shown instead.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page states the four-year integrated master's is Part 1 and Part 2 prescribed by ARB and validated by RIBA.“This degree programme is Part 1 and Part 2 prescribed by the Architects Registration Board (ARB) and Validated by the RIBA.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Page says registration as an architect requires Parts 1, 2 and 3.Source
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Stated by the schoolRIBAProfessional-body validationOther statusUK
Scope: Course page states validation by the RIBA for the four-year integrated programme
Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: RIBA register lists Part 1 BA (Hons) Architecture and Part 2 Master of Architecture & Urbanism (MArch) at the University of Hertfordshire
Stated by the schoolArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationOther statusUK
Scope: Course page states the programme is Part 1 and Part 2 prescribed by ARB (four-year integrated master's, UCAS K101)
Not verifiedArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationOther statusUK
Scope: ARB Schedule 1 lists a Master of Architecture in Architecture and Urbanism at Part 2 only; the register does not state that it is the four-year integrated K101 programme
Further requirements: Register entry is Part 2 only; match with the integrated K101 course not confirmed by the register.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four-year integrated master's degree
- Studio requirements
- design studio accounting for 50% of the credits in each year
- Thesis or dissertation
- self-directed architecture thesis and research dissertation in the final year
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- College Lane campus
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- IELTS 6.0 overall with a minimum of 5.5 in each band or equivalent
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Interview
- Not published
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time tuition, UK studentsTuition | £10,050per year, 2027/28 | UK Students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Full-time tuition, International studentsTuition | £17,970per year, 2027/28 | International Students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)