Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa · School of Architecture · Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campusTwo years
- Tuition
- $7,800per semester, 2026-27
About this program
NAAB-accredited two-year professional degree for holders of a four-year pre-professional architecture degree, ending in a capstone project combining design and applied research.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Program page describes the M.Arch as a NAAB-accredited professional degree and records initial accreditation in 2025.“In this NAAB-accredited two-year professional degree program”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | Two years | – | Four-year pre-professional baccalaureate architecture degreeSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Stated by the schoolNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationOther statusUS
Reference: NAAB Program Directory (naab-dir.weaveaccreditation.com) listed this program on 2026-10-19 as: Initial Accreditation
Scope: Master of Architecture, University of Hawai'i at Manoa
Further requirements: NAAB grants initial accreditation as a 3-year term per the school's accreditation text; the school page still prints the earlier candidacy paragraph.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Two years
- Thesis or dissertation
- Capstone project combining research and design
- Intakes
- Fall semester only
- Campus
- Mānoa campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Four-year pre-professional architecture baccalaureate degree
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate School of Architecture tuition, 12+ credits per semester (Fall and Spring)Tuition | $7,800per semester, 2026-27 | Resident Tuition | 19 October 2026Source |
| Graduate School of Architecture tuition, 12+ credits per semester (Fall and Spring)Tuition | $16,824per semester, 2026-27 | Non-Resident Tuition | 19 October 2026Source |
| Graduate School of Architecture tuition, under 12 creditsTuition | $650per credit, 2026-27 | Resident Tuition | 19 October 2026Source |
| Graduate School of Architecture tuition, under 12 creditsTuition | $1,402per credit, 2026-27 | Non-Resident Tuition | 19 October 2026Source |
| School of Architecture professional feeOther compulsory charge · mandatory | $500per semester, each semester (academic year not stated) | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Fees column, School of Architecture graduate, per semesterOther compulsory charge · mandatory | $967per semester, 2026-27 | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)