Professional doctorate
Doctor of Architecture
University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa · School of Architecture · Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of ArchitectureDArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campusTrack I: 3 years; Track II: 108-credit track
- Tuition
- $7,800per semester, 2026-27
About this program
NAAB-accredited professional doctorate integrating coursework, a professional-office practicum and a research-and-design capstone project (DArch Project); two entry tracks depending on prior degree.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate such as a D.Arch. It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not treated as equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Program page states the DArch is NAAB-accredited and lists it as a professional architecture program.“The School of Architecture at the University Hawai’i at Mānoa offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program: Doctor of Architecture (DArch).”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Depends on route
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 3-year track | – | Four-year pre-professional baccalaureate degree (e.g., BS/BA architecture studies, BA environmental design)Source |
| Prior degree in another subject | 108-credit track | – | Baccalaureate degree in a field unrelated to architectureSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Stated by the schoolNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Reference: NAAB Program Directory (naab-dir.weaveaccreditation.com) listed this program on 2026-10-19 as: Accredited
Scope: Doctor of Architecture, University of Hawai'i at Manoa
Further requirements: Page states next accreditation visit: spring, 2027.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Track I: 3 years; Track II: 108-credit track
- Internship or placement
- Practicum in professional office practice
- Thesis or dissertation
- DArch Project (research and design capstone)
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Mānoa campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not publishedTrack II admissions are currently paused (stop-out) per the page.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Baccalaureate degree or higher
Research degree details
- Department
- School of Architecture
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate School of Architecture tuition, 12+ credits per semester (Fall and Spring) (graduate rate)Tuition | $7,800per semester, 2026-27 | Resident Tuition | 19 October 2026Source |
| Graduate School of Architecture tuition, 12+ credits per semester (Fall and Spring) (graduate rate)Tuition | $16,824per semester, 2026-27 | Non-Resident Tuition | 19 October 2026Source |
| Graduate School of Architecture tuition, under 12 creditsTuition | $650per credit, 2026-27 | Resident Tuition | 19 October 2026Source |
| Graduate School of Architecture tuition, under 12 creditsTuition | $1,402per credit, 2026-27 | Non-Resident Tuition | 19 October 2026Source |
| School of Architecture professional feeOther compulsory charge · mandatory | $500per semester, each semester (academic year not stated) | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Fees column, School of Architecture graduate, per semesterOther compulsory charge · mandatory | $967per semester, 2026-27 | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)