Architecture Schools

Bachelor’s degree

Bachelor of Environmental Design

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa · School of Architecture · Honolulu, Hawaii, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Bachelor of Environmental DesignBEnvD
Pathway
Pre-professionalStated for United States
Format
On campusFour years
Tuition
$5,880per semester, 2026-27

About this program

Four-year pre-professional undergraduate degree on the design of built environments, preparing for graduate study in architecture, landscape architecture and related fields.

Subject
Architecture
Department
School of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
Pathway
Pre-professionalA first stage. The source says further study or a further qualification is needed before registration or licensure.
Why we classify it this way
Page calls the degree pre-professional and says most U.S. jurisdictions require an additional NAAB-accredited graduate degree.“Students intending to pursue architecture licensure in the majority of other U.S. jurisdictions will require an additional graduate professional degree”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published
Further professional requirements
For Hawai'i only, BEnvD graduates may pursue licensure after five years of full-time lawful experience and examination provisions set by the state licensing division; most other jurisdictions require an additional NAAB-accredited graduate degree.Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Four years
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Mānoa campus

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Undergraduate School of Architecture tuition, 12+ credits per semester (Fall and Spring)Tuition$5,880per semester, 2026-27Resident Tuition19 October 2026Source
Undergraduate School of Architecture tuition, 12+ credits per semester (Fall and Spring)Tuition$16,896per semester, 2026-27Non-Resident Tuition19 October 2026Source
Undergraduate School of Architecture tuition, 12+ credits per semester (Fall and Spring)Tuition$8,820per semester, 2026-27Pacific Island Jurisdiction & WUE19 October 2026Source
Undergraduate School of Architecture tuition, under 12 creditsTuition$490per credit, 2026-27Resident Tuition19 October 2026Source
Undergraduate School of Architecture tuition, under 12 creditsTuition$1,408per credit, 2026-27Non-Resident Tuition19 October 2026Source
Undergraduate School of Architecture tuition, under 12 creditsTuition$735per credit, 2026-27Pacific Island Jurisdiction & WUE19 October 2026Source
School of Architecture professional feeOther compulsory charge · mandatory$500per semester, each semester (academic year not stated)All students19 October 2026Source
Fees column, School of Architecture undergraduate, 12+ credits per semesterOther compulsory charge · mandatory$957per semester, 2026-27All students19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction