Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
University of Canberra · School of Design & Built Environment · Bruce, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for Australia
- Format
- On campus2.0 years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year professional Master of Architecture at the Bruce campus in Canberra, built around studio units taught with local practitioners.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Design & Built Environment
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- AACA states the accredited qualification in Australia is the Master of Architecture, and its list names the University of Canberra program.“In Australia, the accredited qualification is the Master of Architecture. Bachelor-level qualifications are not accredited.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- UC says completing its bachelor and Master of Architecture enables the student to pursue steps leading to professional registration; registration itself is a separate step.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 2.0 years | – | Bachelor of Architecture, or equivalent, with a credit (or above) grade average in the second- and third-year design studiosSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) with the state and territory architect registration boardsProgram accreditationFull statusAU
Scope: University of Canberra Master of Architecture, course code 913AA, commencement year 2007 as listed by AACA (list updated September 2026)
Stated by the schoolArchitects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA)Program accreditationFull statusAU
Scope: UC states the Master of Architecture is accredited by AACA
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 2.0 years
- Intakes
- Semester 1 (starts 15 February 2027), Semester 2 (starts 09 August 2027)
- Campus
- Bruce campus, Canberra
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio depends on routeA portfolio may be used to decide eligibility when the credit-average requirement is not met; the page highly recommends one for applicants below a credit average and says it should show the final four semesters of studio work or equivalent professional experience.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor of Architecture or equivalent with a credit (or above) average in the design studios of years two and three
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)