Research doctorate (PhD)
PhD in Environmental Design
University of Calgary · School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape (SAPL) · Calgary, Alberta, Canada
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy in Environmental DesignPhD
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for Canada
- Format
- On campustypically four years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Doctoral research program of SAPL on the design, planning and management of natural and built environments (editors: title is not 'architecture').
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape (SAPL)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page describes an advanced doctoral program in which students propose and conduct research.“to propose and conduct research that enhances the design, planning, and management of both natural and built environments.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- typically four years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- University of Calgary (SAPL)
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape (SAPL)
- Finding a supervisor
- A supervisor drawn from regular full-time faculty cohort in the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape.
- Research proposal
- Thesis proposal approved by the Supervisory Committee.
- Deadlines
- Apply September 1 – February 1 (year not stated on page)
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)