Professional doctorate
Doctor of Design (DDes)
University of Calgary · School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape (SAPL) · Calgary, Alberta, Canada
- Official award
- Doctor of DesignDDes
- Pathway
- Not classifiedStated for Canada
- Format
- Hybridthree years
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
Three-year design-based doctorate delivered online with twice-yearly symposia, for mid-career architects, planners and landscape architects.
Intended audience: Mid-career architects, planners and landscape architects with at least five years of experience.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape (SAPL)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate such as a D.Arch. It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not treated as equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional status of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the degree name.
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (studios, residencies, assessments or placements). A hybrid degree is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Mostly online
- Campus studio required
- Not published
- Campus residencies or workshops
- Twice a year, all DDes students are required to attend and participate in a four-day research symposium
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- three years
- Campus attendance
- two four-day research symposia per year
- Thesis or dissertation
- Thesis Research Proposal of 3,000 to 5,000 words
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- University of Calgary (SAPL)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape (SAPL)
- Finding a supervisor
- Work closely with assigned supervisors to refine your research.
- Research proposal
- The Thesis Research Proposal for the DDes is a 3,000 to 5,000 word written document
- Previous qualifications
- at least 5 years of professional experience
- Residency expectations
- four-day research symposium twice a year
- Study modes
- online
- Deadlines
- Apply by May 31 (year not stated on page)
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)