Architecture Schools

Research doctorate (PhD)

Ph.D. in Design, Technology and Society

The University of British Columbia · School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (SALA) · Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Doctor of PhilosophyPhD
Pathway
ResearchStated for Canada
Format
On campusfour- to five-year course of study and research
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Research doctorate hosted by the School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture; the title is not 'architecture' (editors: check subject label).

Subject
Architecture
Department
School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (SALA)
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
Pathway
Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
Why we classify it this way
The school describes it as a program supporting original doctoral research.“The SALA Design, Technology and Society (DTS) PhD program supports original doctoral research”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
four- to five-year course of study and research
Intakes
September 2027
Campus
UBC Vancouver402–6333 Memorial Road, Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z2

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
master’s degree from an approved university; Canadian or U.S. credentials normally expected to have a B+ average
Deadlines
  • The application deadline for admission in September 2027 is January 1, 2027. · September 2027

Research degree details

Department
School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (SALA)
Research themes
  • climate and energy
  • housing and diversity
  • healthy and resilient environments
  • design and the future of construction
Finding a supervisor
Applicants should review current research areas and identify potential supervisory fit before applying.
Research proposal
A brief research proposal describing the research context, theoretical framework, methods, and expected outcomes
Previous qualifications
master’s degree from an approved university
Deadlines
January 1, 2027 for September 2027 admission

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • UBC minimum PhD funding policy Funding

    Guaranteed to eligible students · four years

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction