Master’s degree · Adjacent subject: Landscape architecture
Master of Landscape Architecture
The University of British Columbia · School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (SALA) · Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
- Official award
- Master of Landscape ArchitectureMLA
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for Canada
- Format
- On campusthree years
- Tuition
- Not published
Adjacent subject
About this program
Three-year professional master's in landscape architecture at SALA (adjacent subject, not architecture).
- Subject
- Landscape architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (SALA)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The school's graduate listing calls it an accredited professional program.“accredited professional program fostering designers of natural and urban terrains”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Depends on previous study | three years (108 credits) | 108 | degree academically equivalent to a four-year bachelor's degree at UBCSource |
| Prior degree in another subject | two-year track with advanced placement | – | design degree or advanced design educationSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Stated by the schoolLandscape Architectural Accreditation Council (LAAC)Program accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: UBC MLA (Vancouver); LAAC last accredited the program in 2024 for six years (school statement)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- three years
- Credits
- 108 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- UBC Vancouver402–6333 Memorial Road, Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z2
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredPDF of at most 20 letter-sized pages (or 10 spreads), under 10MB
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- degree academically equivalent to a four-year bachelor's degree at UBC
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)