Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (MArch)
University at Buffalo, SUNY · School of Architecture and Planning · Buffalo, New York, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureMArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus3-year track 90 credit hours; 2-year tracks 60 credit hours
- Tuition
- $7,530per semester, Fall 2026
About this program
NAAB-accredited professional master's with a 3-year track (any background) and two 2-year tracks (60 credits) for applicants with studio-based architecture degrees.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture and Planning
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page states UB offers the only NAAB-accredited MArch program in SUNY.“Offering the only accredited Master of Architecture in the State University of New York, UB's program has been recognized by the National Architectural Accreditation Board.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior degree in another subject | 3 years | 90 | Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution (any background)Source |
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 2 years (Research Studio Track) | 60 | UB BS Arch or equivalent studio-based degreeSource |
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 2 years (Synthesis and Integrated Studio Track) | 60 | Studio-based four- or five-year architecture degreeSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, University at Buffalo, SUNY. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 1979/80; last reaffirmation 2024; next team visit 2032.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2031
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 3-year track 90 credit hours; 2-year tracks 60 credit hours
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- South Campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredPortfolio of drawings, models and renderings of academic and/or professional projects is reviewed by the committee.
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- Fall 2027 - Early Admissions deadline is January 15, 2027 for scholarship consideration · Fall 2027
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Master of Architecture resident full-time tuition per semesterTuition · mandatory | $7,530per semester, Fall 2026 | Resident Full-Time | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)
- Official program page
- buffalo.edu/studentaccounts/tuition-and-fees/fall.h
- archplan.buffalo.edu/academics/graduate-degrees/march/march-
- archplan.buffalo.edu/academics/graduate-degrees/march/3-yrtr
- archplan.buffalo.edu/academics/graduate-degrees/march/2-yr-r
- archplan.buffalo.edu/academics/graduate-degrees/march/2-yr-s
- api.weaveaccreditation.com/public/directory/programs/%7B1dc8596a-b
- archplan.buffalo.edu/academics/undergraduate-degrees.html