Research doctorate (PhD)
Doutoramento em Arquitetura
PhD in Architecture
Universidade da Beira Interior · Departamento de Arquitetura · Covilhã, Portugal
- Official award
- Doutor em ArquiteturaPhD
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for Portugal
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Third-cycle programme preparing researchers in architecture, open to holders of a master's in architecture or related fields; 15 places in 2026.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Departamento de Arquitetura
- Awarding body
- Universidade da Beira Interior
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- The cycle trains researchers in architecture able to work autonomously on research.“Este Ciclo de Estudos (CE) visa a formação de investigadores na área científica de Arquitetura”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- No
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- UBI, Covilhã
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- Teaching language is not stated on the program page checked on 2026-10-19; left empty rather than assumed.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Master's or legal equivalent in architecture and urbanism, or in engineering, arts, social sciences and related areas; some other cases admitted
Research degree details
- Department
- Departamento de Arquitetura
- Previous qualifications
- Master's in architecture and urbanism or related areas
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)