Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
Unitec Institute of Technology · Architecture and Architectural Technology (Unitec) · Auckland, New Zealand
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureMArch
- Pathway
- Post-professionalStated for New Zealand
- Format
- On campusFull-time for 18 months or part-time for two-and-a-half years (240 credits, level 9)
- Tuition
- NZ$9,100per year, As published (academic year not stated beside the figure)
About this program
Master by project for practitioners and architecture graduates who want to advance their design practice; not the registration-qualifying degree.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Architecture and Architectural Technology (Unitec)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Post-professional / specialistA specialist or advanced master’s that builds on a professional degree or does not by itself lead to registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Unitec says this by-project master is not the accredited degree for registration.“This is not an accredited degree to become a registered architect”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Full-time for 18 months or part-time for two-and-a-half years (240 credits, level 9)
- Credits
- 240 Unitec creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Thesis or dissertation
- Design research project worth 240 credits
- Intakes
- February or July
- Campus
- Mt Albert campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition fees for 120 credits (approximate; includes GST; excludes compulsory student services fee)Tuition | NZ$9,100per year, As published (academic year not stated beside the figure) | Domestic/NZ students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Approximate fees for 120 creditsTuition | NZ$31,327.20per year, As published (academic year not stated beside the figure) | International students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)