Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (Professional)
Unitec Institute of Technology · Architecture and Architectural Technology (Unitec) · Auckland, New Zealand
- Official award
- Master of Architecture (Professional)MArch(Prof)
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for New Zealand
- Format
- On campusFull-time for 2 years or part-time options available (240 credits, level 9)
- Tuition
- NZ$9,400per year, Annual; academic year not stated on page
About this program
Two-year professional Master of Architecture (Professional) at Unitec Mt Albert; with the BAS it forms a five-year package towards registration.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Architecture and Architectural Technology (Unitec)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- NZRAB lists the Unitec Master of Architecture (Professional) as a recognised qualification for initial registration.“Unitec Auckland — Master of Architecture (Professional)”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- The page says the compulsory 480 hours of work experience is part of the programme; registration needs further NZRAB steps.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | Full-time for 2 years or part-time options available | – | Recognised undergraduate degree in architecture with GPA 4.0 or higher for level 7 coursesSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) accredited-qualifications list (international qualifications, New Zealand)Program accreditationFull statusNZ
Scope: Manukau Institute of Technology and Unitec MARCP, commencement year 2010 in the AACA international qualifications table (list updated September 2026); the table row does not separate the two providers
Verified in official recordNew Zealand Registered Architects Board (NZRAB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusNZ
Scope: Unitec Auckland Master of Architecture (Professional) is on NZRAB list of degrees recognised for Pathway 1 registration
Stated by the schoolNZRAB, NZIA and AACA (as stated by Unitec)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusNZ
Scope: Unitec states the programme is recognised by NZRAB, NZIA and AACA and leads to initial registration in New Zealand
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Full-time for 2 years or part-time options available (240 credits, level 9)
- Credits
- 240 Unitec creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Internship or placement
- Compulsory work experience of 480 hours over two years
- Intakes
- February or July
- Campus
- Mt Albert campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition fees (approximate, includes GST, excludes student services levy)Tuition | NZ$9,400per year, Annual; academic year not stated on page | Domestic/NZ students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Annual tuition fees (approximate fees for 120 credits)Tuition | NZ$31,327.20per year, Annual; academic year not stated on page | International students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)