Architecture Schools

Bachelor’s degree

Bachelor of Architectural Studies

Unitec Institute of Technology · Architecture and Architectural Technology (Unitec) · Auckland, New Zealand

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Bachelor of Architectural StudiesBAS
Pathway
Pre-professionalStated for New Zealand
Format
On campusFull-time for three years or part-time options can be negotiated
Tuition
NZ$9,600per year, As published (academic year not stated beside the figure)

About this program

Three-year first degree in architecture at Unitec Mt Albert, the first part of the five-year route to registration with the Master of Architecture (Professional).

Subject
Architecture
Department
Architecture and Architectural Technology (Unitec)
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
Pathway
Pre-professionalA first stage. The source says further study or a further qualification is needed before registration or licensure.
Why we classify it this way
Unitec says the BAS plus the Master of Architecture (Professional) is a five-year pathway to registration.“five-year pathway designed to prepare you for industry registration as a qualified architect”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time, Part-time
Duration
Full-time for three years or part-time options can be negotiated
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Mt Albert campus

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
No portfolio required
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Annual tuition fees (approximate; includes GST; excludes compulsory student services fee)TuitionNZ$9,600per year, As published (academic year not stated beside the figure)Domestic/NZ students19 October 2026Source
Approximate fees for 120 credits onlyTuitionNZ$27,207.20per year, As published (academic year not stated beside the figure)International students19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction