Architecture Schools

Research doctorate (PhD)

PhD Programme in Architecture

Umeå University (Umeå School of Architecture) · Umeå School of Architecture (Arkitekthögskolan) · Umeå, Sweden

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
PhD in ArchitecturePhD
Pathway
Research
Format
On campus240 ECTS credits, four years full-time (many students work 80 % on research and 20 % on teaching, extending to five years)
Tuition
Not published

About this program

A four-year, employment-based doctoral programme at Umeå School of Architecture covering architecture, urbanism, landscape and technology from theoretical, practice-based and artistic research perspectives.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Umeå School of Architecture (Arkitekthögskolan)
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
Pathway
Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
Why we classify it this way
UMA describes the programme as educating architectural scholars through research.“The PhD programme in Architecture at Umeå University aims to educate architectural scholars who are experts in their research areas”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
240 ECTS credits, four years full-time (many students work 80 % on research and 20 % on teaching, extending to five years)
Credits
240 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Arts Campus, Umeå

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Differences by campus or pathway
Teaching and supervision language is not stated on the programme page.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Research degree details

Department
Umeå School of Architecture (UMA), Faculty of Science and Technology
Research themes
  • Architectural Design
  • Architectural History, Theory, and Critical Studies
  • Landscape and Urbanism
  • Building Construction, Materiality, and Computational Design
Finding a supervisor
Each student has a main supervisor from UMA and a secondary supervisor; an individual study plan is developed by the student, supervisors and an examiner.
Residency expectations
PhD students have dedicated workspaces at UMA.
Study modes
Four years full-time; many students dedicate 80 % to research and 20 % to teaching or departmental duties, extending to five years.

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Employment as PhD student at Umeå University Stipend

    Basis not stated

    Eligibility: PhD students are employed by Umeå University.

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction