Integrated (single-cycle) qualification
Arkitektprogrammet
Architecture programme (architect, 300 credits)
Umeå University (Umeå School of Architecture) · Umeå School of Architecture (Arkitekthögskolan) · Umeå, Sweden
- Official award
- Arkitektexamen
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for Sweden
- Format
- On campus300 hp; the first three years introduce central concepts, methods and theoretical models
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
A practice-based architect programme of 300 credits combining artistic and scientific disciplines with a focus on sustainability; the first three years introduce core concepts, methods and theoretical models.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Umeå School of Architecture (Arkitekthögskolan)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Integrated (single-cycle) qualificationA single-cycle qualification entered from secondary school that the national system treats as master’s-level. It is not forced into the bachelor’s or master’s lists: the official level and entry route are shown instead.
- Official level
- Swedish Higher Education Ordinance (högskoleförordningen), Annex 2 Arkitektexamen, 300 higher education credits · Statutory degree description for the architect degree.As stated in the source. A framework level does not make different national awards equivalent.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The school states the programme leads to an architect degree (arkitektexamen) that allows work as an architect in the private and public sectors.“Utbildningen leder till en arkitektexamen vilket innebär att du kan arbeta som arkitekt i såväl privat som offentlig sektor.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- No
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | 300 hp | 300 | Not captured from the programme page.Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 300 hp; the first three years introduce central concepts, methods and theoretical models
- Credits
- 300 hp (ECTS-equivalent)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Studio requirements
- Work is mainly project-based with supervision, in groups or individually; each student has a workplace in the school studio.
- Workshops
- Woodworking workshop, laser cutters, 3D printers and computer labs.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Arts Campus, Umeå
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- Taught in EnglishAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- Stated on the Swedish-language programme page; whether Swedish is also used in any course was not stated.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)