Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture

University of Massachusetts Amherst · Department of Architecture, College of Humanities & Fine Arts · Amherst, Massachusetts, United States

Official award
Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campustypically two years (advanced standing) or three years
Tuition
Not published

About this program

NAAB-accredited professional master of architecture with a two-year advanced-standing track and a three-year track for applicants without a preprofessional architecture degree.

Intended audience: Applicants from any discipline, including those without prior architecture experience.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Department of Architecture, College of Humanities & Fine Arts
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
The department lists the M.Arch tracks as NAAB-accredited degree programs; the NAAB directory also lists the program as accredited.“UMass Amherst's Department of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Depends on route
Applicants without an architecture degree
Yes
Further professional requirements
Most US registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)typically two years57preprofessional degree in architectureSource
Prior degree in another subjecttypically three years87non-preprofessional degree (up to 87 credits)Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture, UMass Amherst (NAAB program record). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2031-12-31.

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2031

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
typically two years (advanced standing) or three years
Thesis or dissertation
Design courses, including Design Studio sequence, digital representation and fabrication sequence, and Master's thesis sequence
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Amherst campus (Olver Design Building)210 Olver Design Building, 551 North Pleasant Street

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Published language requirements
Language tests are required of foreign student applicants.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requiredPortfolio and/or documentation of previous creative work and/or research, no more than twenty pages.
Interview
Not published
Academic prerequisites
One semester each of calculus and physics before the stated year of study.
Documents
Transcripts, 2 letters of recommendation, personal statement (max 3 pages), portfolio.
Official instructions
Application instructions

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction