Research doctorate (PhD)
Doktoratsstudium der Technischen Wissenschaften Architektur (786 600)
TU Wien · Faculty of Architecture and Planning (Fakultät für Architektur und Raumplanung) · Wien, Wien, Austria
- Official award
- Doktoratsstudium der Technischen Wissenschaften Architektur (Kennzahl 786 600)
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for Austria
- Format
- On campus6 Semester Regelstudiendauer
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Individual research doctorate at the Faculty of Architecture and Planning with a six-semester standard duration; candidates must find a supervisor with teaching authorisation.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Faculty of Architecture and Planning (Fakultät für Architektur und Raumplanung)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- Individual doctorate completed by a dissertation defended in a Rigorosum.“Das Doktoratsstudium wird mit einer Dissertation abgeschlossen, die von externen Personen bewertet und im Rahmen eines Rigorosums - einer öffentlichen, kommissionellen Gesamtprüfung - verteidigt wird.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 6 Semester Regelstudiendauer
- Credits
- 180 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- TU Wien - Faculty of Architecture and Planning (Vienna)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- UNCONFIRMED: the doctoral pages print no teaching or thesis language; German reflects the language of the faculty pages and should be verified.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Recognised relevant diploma/master's degree (or equivalent) plus a supervision commitment from an authorised professor.
- Documents
- CV, motivation letter and a 3-10 page research exposé sent to a chosen supervisor.
Research degree details
- Department
- Fakultät für Architektur und Raumplanung
- Finding a supervisor
- Applicants must find an authorised professor or Privatdozent who agrees to supervise.
- Research proposal
- Research exposé of 3-10 pages, CV and motivation letter.
- Previous qualifications
- Relevant diploma, master's or equivalent degree.
- Study modes
- A doctorate can be pursued as a pure study or together with employment at TU Wien.
- Deadlines
- Admission can be applied for at any time; start of studies is possible at any time.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)