Research doctorate (PhD)
PhD Program in Architecture
Toronto Metropolitan University · Department of Architectural Science · Toronto, Ontario, Canada
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy in ArchitecturePhD
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for Canada
- Format
- On campusThree (3) years, full time (max. six calendar years)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Research doctorate in the Department of Architectural Science that places design at the center of scholarly inquiry; requires a CACB-accredited M.Arch or equivalent.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architectural Science
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page frames it as scholarly research degree with design at its centre.“placing design itself at the center of scholarly inquiry”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Three (3) years, full time (max. six calendar years)
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Toronto Metropolitan University350 Victoria St., Toronto, ON M5B 2K3
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredPortfolio submitted as one single PDF document (max 50 MB); statement of interest 1,500 to 2,000 words
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- CACB-accredited Master of Architecture degree (or foreign equivalent) from an accredited institution; minimum GPA 3.33/4.33 (B+)
Research degree details
- Department
- Department of Architectural Science
- Research themes
- Sustainable design
- Emerging technologies
- Global communities
- Design research and creative scholarship
- Finding a supervisor
- Applicants must first connect with a supervisor; one of three recommendation letters must come from a prospective supervisor in the Department of Architectural Science.
- Research proposal
- Statement of interest addressing the proposed research topic and methodologies, motivations and objectives (1,500 to 2,000 words, with bibliographic references)
- Previous qualifications
- CACB-accredited Master of Architecture (or foreign equivalent), minimum GPA 3.33/4.33 (B+)
- Study modes
- full time
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)