Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
The School of Architecture (TSOA) · The School of Architecture (TSOA) · Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus4 semesters (M.Arch II) or 7 semesters (M.Arch III)
- Tuition
- $18,000per semester, academic year not stated on the page
About this program
Hands-on, studio-based M.Arch where students earn Architecture Project hours on design/build work and complete a year-long thesis that designs, builds and occupies a small shelter.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- The School of Architecture (TSOA)
- Awarding body
- The School of Architecture
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The school calls the M.Arch an accredited professional graduate degree leading to qualifications for architectural licensing.“The School’s Master of Architecture (M.Arch) degree is an accredited, professional graduate degree leading to qualifications for architectural licensing.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Depends on route
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates become licensed architects after internship experience and passing the architectural exam.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | M.Arch II track: 4 semesters | – | undergraduate degree; the NAAB statement refers to a pre-professional degree plus graduate creditsSource |
| Prior degree in another subject | M.Arch III track: 7 semesters | – | undergraduate degree in a related or unrelated field plus post-secondary prerequisitesSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, The School of Architecture, Scottsdale AZ. NAAB directory lists initial accreditation 1996, last reaffirmation 2023, status expiration 2030-12-31, next team visit 2031. The school's accreditation page also lists NAAB Plan to Correct and Special Report letters dated 2024-2025.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2030
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 4 semesters (M.Arch II) or 7 semesters (M.Arch III)
- Campus attendance
- Students work, live and learn together within a communal environment at Cattle Track.
- Thesis or dissertation
- year-long shelter thesis project
- Intakes
- Fall (rolling admissions)
- Campus
- Cattle Track Arts Compound7610 E McDonald Drive, Suite G, Scottsdale, AZ 85250
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- undergraduate degree in a related or unrelated field
- Academic prerequisites
- post-secondary prerequisites
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| M.Arch tuition per semesterTuition · mandatory | $18,000per semester, academic year not stated on the page | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)