Bachelor’s degree
Bachelor of Architecture
The Cooper Union · The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of ArchitectureB.Arch.
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus5 years
- Tuition
- $22,275per term, 2026-2027
About this program
Five-year professional program within a liberal arts framework, ending with a year-long thesis.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page describes a five-year professional program; the school's accreditation page lists it as NAAB-accredited.“Cooper Union’s five-year professional program is framed within the context of a rigorous liberal arts education that includes a wide range of required and elective courses in the humanities and”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Bachelor of Architecture, The Cooper Union. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 1965/66; last reaffirmation 2025; next team visit 2033.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2032
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 5 years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Cooper Union campus, East Village
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| School of Architecture undergraduate tuition, per term (first column of the cost budget)Tuition · mandatory | $22,275per term, 2026-2027 | School of Architecture and School of Art Domestic Students | 19 October 2026Source |
| School of Architecture undergraduate tuition, academic year (on/off campus and commuter columns)Tuition · mandatory | $44,550per year, 2026-2027 | School of Architecture and School of Art Domestic Students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Fees, per term (first column of the cost budget)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $1,135per term, 2026-2027 | School of Architecture and School of Art Domestic Students | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: $222,750 (Domestic students). Calculated from published annual tuition for 2026-2027 x 5 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)