Master’s degree
Sustainable Architecture, Architecture (Master's Programme)
Tampere University · School of Architecture, Faculty of Built Environment · Hervanta, Tampere, Finland
- Official award
- Master of Science (Architecture)MSc
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for Finland
- Format
- On campus2 years, 120 ECTS
- Tuition
- €12,000per year, Academic year as published October 2026
About this program
A two-year, 120 ECTS master's that integrates sustainability and the UN Sustainable Development Goals into architectural design, in theory and practice.
Intended audience: Creative designers and critical thinkers interested in architecture and in responding to societal, environmental and cultural challenges.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Formal specialization
- Sustainable architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture, Faculty of Built Environment
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The programme page states the degree confers eligibility to work as an architect in Finland and the EU, with access to the profession depending on local regulations.“The degree confers eligibility to work as an architect in Finland, the EU and other countries abroad, although access to the profession may require training, an internship or an examination, depending on local regulations.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 2 years, 120 ECTS | 120 | See Studyinfo admission criteria; not captured from the programme page.Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Stated by the schoolTampere University (school statement on professional eligibility)Eligibility toward registrationOther statusFI
Scope: School states the degree confers eligibility to work as an architect in Finland, the EU and elsewhere, although access may require training, an internship or an examination under local rules.
Further requirements: Access to the profession may require training, an internship or an examination depending on local regulations.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 2 years, 120 ECTS
- Credits
- 120 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Hervanta Campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- The teaching language is not literally stated on the fetched page; 'en' is a placeholder based on the programme being offered on Tampere University's English-language master's programme pages with a non-EU/EEA tuition fee.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- Separate application 14 December 2026–7 January 2027 at 23.59 · 2027
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition fee for non-EU/EEA citizensTuition | €12,000per year, Academic year as published October 2026 | Tuition fee for non-EU/EEA citizens | 19 October 2026Source |
| Application fee (non-EU/EEA applicants, paid through Studyinfo)Application fee | €100one-time, 2027 admissions | Non-EU/EEA applicants (fee payment instructions are sent by Studyinfo) | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: €24,000 (International students). Calculated from published annual tuition for Academic year as published October 2026 x 2 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)