Research doctorate (PhD)
Doctoral Programme in Built Environment
Tampere University · School of Architecture, Faculty of Built Environment · Hervanta, Tampere, Finland
- Official award
- Doctor of Science (Architecture) (also Doctor of Philosophy; Doctor of Science (Technology))
- Pathway
- Research
- Format
- On campusPlanned duration 4 years; extent 240
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
A doctoral programme of the Faculty of Built Environment in which the architecture and urban planning and design field covers built heritage, architectural design and urban planning; applications go through Studyinfo.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture, Faculty of Built Environment
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- Tampere lists Doctor of Science (Architecture) among the degrees earned in this doctoral programme, with architecture and urban planning and design as a research field.“architecture and urban planning and design (research areas: management of built heritage, architectural design, and urban planning and design)”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Planned duration 4 years; extent 240
- Credits
- 240 credits (unit not stated on the page)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Application period 3 August-30 November 2026
- Campus
- Hervanta Campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- Teaching language is not stated on the page.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- Application period 3 August–30 November 2026 at 15.00 (UTC+2) · 2027
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Research degree details
- Department
- Faculty of Built Environment
- Research themes
- management of built heritage
- architectural design
- urban planning and design
- Finding a supervisor
- Applicants find a responsible supervisor by contacting one of the professors; other supervisors and a follow-up group are agreed together afterwards.
- Deadlines
- Continuous application with a period 3 August-30 November 2026.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)