Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture

South Dakota State University · Architecture Program, School of Design · Brookings, South Dakota, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campustwo-year and three-year routes
Tuition
$358.40per credit, 2026-2027

About this program

Professional master of architecture with a two-year route for architecture graduates (including an accelerated option for SDSU students) and a three-year route for graduates of other disciplines.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Architecture Program, School of Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
The school calls the M.Arch its professional degree in architecture and lists it as NAAB-accredited.“The architecture program offers an accredited Master of Architecture as its professional degree in architecture.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Depends on route
Applicants without an architecture degree
Yes
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)two years48four-year undergraduate degree in architecture (preprofessional degree)Source
Prior degree in another subjectthree years97undergraduate degree in a discipline other than architecture (nonpreprofessional degree)Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture (both listed credit routes), Brookings campus (NAAB Program Directory entry: South Dakota State University, Master of Architecture; status "Accredited"; last reaffirmation 2019; next team visit 2027)

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
two-year and three-year routes
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Brookings main campus1175 Medary Avenue, Brookings, SD 57006

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio required
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Graduate on-campus tuition, resident (university-wide per-credit rate)Tuition$358.40per credit, 2026-2027Resident19 October 2026Source
Graduate on-campus tuition, nonresident (university-wide per-credit rate)Tuition$689.15per credit, 2026-2027Nonresident19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes.

Sources and how this was checked