Master’s degree
Spatial Ecologies (MA in Architecture, Kalundborg)
Spatial Ecologies
Royal Danish Academy – Architecture, Design, Conservation · Architecture education at the Royal Danish Academy · Kalundborg, Denmark
- Official award
- Master of Arts in Architecture (cand.arch.)MA
- Pathway
- Not classified
- Format
- On campusFour consecutive semesters; exchange possible in the second semester, final thesis project in the fourth
- Tuition
- €9,000per semester, 2026-27
About this program
A master's in architecture at the Kalundborg campus (first cohort 2026) framing architecture around material, ecological and cultural layers of place, with fieldwork and full-scale experimentation.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Architecture education at the Royal Danish Academy
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional status of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the degree name.
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | Four consecutive semesters | – | Bachelor's degree in architecture or architectural studies from a nationally recognised school of architecture; in Denmark only the Royal Danish Academy or Aarhus School of Architecture bachelor's qualifies.Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Stated by the schoolDanish Accreditation Council / Danish Accreditation InstitutionInstitutional recognitionOther statusDK
Scope: Institutional accreditation decided 9 June 2020 (reported on Aarhus School of Architecture's site, which says the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, School of Architecture was assessed at the same meeting and awarded a positive institutional accreditation). Renewal not verified.
Dates: 9 June 2020 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four consecutive semesters; exchange possible in the second semester, final thesis project in the fourth
- Thesis or dissertation
- Final thesis project in the fourth semester.
- Intakes
- First cohort 2026
- Campus
- Kalundborg
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- Partly taught in EnglishAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- Most teaching is in English; assignments and examinations may be submitted in Danish.
- Published language requirements
- Language documentation required by 1 March; no exceptions.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredAdmission is based primarily on portfolio and relevant professional experience; applicants may be called for an interview. Single document, max 10 MB. The master's in architecture is offered at both Copenhagen and Kalundborg as separate educations; one application per campus.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor's degree in architecture or architectural studies from a nationally recognised school of architecture.
- Academic prerequisites
- Degrees in design, interior architecture, landscape architecture, planning, construction or engineering are not eligible.
- Documents
- Portfolio, educational transcripts, bachelor degree certificate, language proficiency documentation, CV, passport copy.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Architecture tuition per semester, non-EU/EEA applicants, 2026-27Tuition | €9,000per semester, 2026-27 | Applicants from a non-EU/EEA country | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)