Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Arts (MA) in Architecture (Copenhagen)

Royal Danish Academy – Architecture, Design, Conservation · Architecture education at the Royal Danish Academy · Copenhagen, Denmark

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Master of Arts (MA) in ArchitectureMA
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for Denmark
Format
On campus
Tuition
€9,000per semester, 2026-27

About this program

Master's in architecture in Copenhagen with 11 specializations; admission is based mainly on a portfolio and relevant professional experience.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Architecture education at the Royal Danish Academy
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
The school states its architecture programmes are accredited in Denmark and qualify students to practise architecture there; the Danish Architects' Association lists the degree for membership.“The programmes are accredited in Denmark, qualifying students to practice architecture in Denmark.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Yes
Applicants without an architecture degree
No
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)Not published on the fetched pages–Bachelor's degree in architecture or architectural studies from a nationally recognised school of architecture; in Denmark only the Royal Danish Academy or Aarhus School of Architecture bachelor's qualifies.Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Stated by the schoolEU Professional Qualifications Directive 2005/36/EC (as stated by the school)Eligibility toward registrationOther statusEU

    Scope: School states its architecture master programmes are accredited in Denmark and recognised in the EU under the directive.

  • Stated by the schoolDanish Accreditation Council / Danish Accreditation InstitutionInstitutional recognitionOther statusDK

    Scope: Institutional accreditation decided 9 June 2020 (reported on Aarhus School of Architecture's site, which says the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, School of Architecture was assessed at the same meeting and awarded a positive institutional accreditation). Renewal not verified.

    Dates: 9 June 2020 to not stated

  • Verified in official recordDanish Association of Architects (Akademisk Arkitektforening)Association membershipFull statusDK

    Scope: The association's membership FAQ lists the M.Arch. from the Royal Academy (or Aarhus School of Architecture) as a qualifying degree for membership and the title 'architect MAA'.

    Further requirements: Membership is voluntary; the title 'architect' itself is not protected in Denmark.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Copenhagen

Teaching language

Taught in
Danish, English
English
Partly taught in EnglishAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Differences by campus or pathway
Language varies by master's specialization; the English site lists five architecture-related master's tracks (e.g. Political Architecture: Critical Sustainability). Per-track language was not confirmed.
Published language requirements
Language documentation required by 1 March; no exceptions.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requiredAdmission is based primarily on portfolio and relevant professional experience; applicants may be called for an interview. Motivational and reference letters are not considered.
Interview
Interview possible
Previous qualification
Bachelor's degree in architecture or architectural studies from a nationally recognised school of architecture.
Academic prerequisites
Degrees in design, interior architecture, landscape architecture, planning, construction or engineering are not eligible.
Documents
Portfolio, transcripts, CV, passport copy, language documentation.
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition for architecture programmes, non-EU/EEA applicantsTuition€9,000per semester, 2026-27Applicants from a non-EU/EEA country19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes.

Sources and how this was checked