Master’s degree
MArch (ARB/RIBA) Architecture
Royal College of Art · School of Architecture · Kensington, London, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- MArch (ARB/RIBA)MArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus2 year programme, full-time
- Tuition
- £9,780per year, September 2027 entry
About this program
Two-year, 240-credit full-time architecture master's at the RCA School of Architecture, validated by RIBA and ARB; the page says ARB approval is expected by September 2027.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- RCA page says the programme is accredited by RIBA and ARB and covers the criteria for a professional master's qualification; the RIBA list names it as Part 2.“Preparing you for the future, we’ll cover all the relevant criteria for professional masters qualification.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 MA Architecture, Royal College of Art School of Architecture
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Arts Royal College of Art in Architecture, Part 2, ARB Schedule 1; the course page says ARB approval of the programme is expected by September 2027
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 2 year programme, full-time
- Credits
- 240 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- September 2027
- Campus
- Kensington
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- High quality first degree in architecture (RIBA Part I) or international equivalent, plus at least one year of work experience in a design office; alternative undergraduate qualifications considered on portfolio and statement
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| tuitionTuition | £9,780per year, September 2027 entry | Home (subsidised) | 19 October 2026Source |
| tuitionTuition | £30,550per year, September 2027 entry | Overseas and EU | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)