Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Architecture (M.Arch)

Roger Williams University · Cummings School of Architecture · Bristol, Rhode Island, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campus1.5 to 3.5 years
Tuition
$23,424per semester, 2026-2027 academic year

About this program

NAAB-accredited professional M.Arch on the Bristol campus, with a shorter route for pre-professional BS graduates and a longer route for others.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Cummings School of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
RWU calls the M.Arch NAAB-accredited professional training; NAAB directory lists it as accredited.“The NAAB-accredited M.Arch program at RWU provides a rigorous professional training in design, history, planning, and technology”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Depends on route
Applicants without an architecture degree
Yes
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)BS in Architecture (pre-professional degree) + 53 graduate credits53pre-professional BS in ArchitectureSource
Prior degree in another subjectMaster of Architecture (101 graduate credits)101degree without architectureSource

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture, RWU (NAAB program record). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2026-12-31.

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2026

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
1.5 to 3.5 years
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Bristol campus1 Old Ferry Road

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition per semester (12-19 credits)Tuition$23,424per semester, 2026-2027 academic yearAll students19 October 2026Source
Tuition per creditTuition$1,956per credit, 2026-2027 academic yearAll students19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Career Investment Program Funding

    Basis not stated

    Eligibility: Available to all M.Arch students

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction