Research doctorate (PhD)
PhD (Architecture & Design)
RMIT University · School of Architecture and Urban Design · Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy - Plan DR207PhD
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for Australia
- Format
- On campusFull-time 3-4 years; part-time 6-8 years (maximum 4 years full-time and 8 years part-time)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Research doctorate in design research run through the School of Architecture and Urban Design, undertaken mainly in project mode with thesis modes also possible.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture and Urban Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- RMIT describes the PhD as design research contributing to the discipline's knowledge base.“The province of the PhD is the exploration of new territories of design research, contributions to the knowledge base of the discipline”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Full-time 3-4 years; part-time 6-8 years (maximum 4 years full-time and 8 years part-time)
- Campus attendance
- Learning mode: On campus (City Campus)
- Thesis or dissertation
- Project, thesis by publication or thesis mode
- Intakes
- Continuous (scholarship application closing dates apply)
- Campus
- RMIT City campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- School of Architecture and Urban Design
- Finding a supervisor
- Regular meetings with supervisors against milestones; candidates complete a compulsory research methods course and research integrity modules
- Residency expectations
- Full-time candidates are expected to commit at least four days per week (two days per week for part-time) to their research
- Study modes
- Full-time 3-4 years; part-time 6-8 years
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)