Bachelor’s degree
Bachelor of Architecture (BArch)
Rhode Island School of Design · Department of Architecture · Providence, Rhode Island, United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of ArchitectureB.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campusfive years; 150 credits (entering 2025 and after), 156 credits (entering 2024 and before)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Five-year NAAB-accredited professional B.Arch inside an art and design college, emphasising making, drawing and research.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- RISD describes the five-year BArch as NAAB-accredited and a professional degree; NAAB directory lists it as accredited.“our five-year undergraduate program in Architecture leads to a professional degree: the Bachelor of Architecture (BArch)”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | five-year program | 150 | –Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Bachelor of Architecture, RISD (NAAB program record). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2030-12-31.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2030
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- five years; 150 credits (entering 2025 and after), 156 credits (entering 2024 and before)
- Credits
- 150 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Providence campus20 Washington Place
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)