Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (Professional)
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute · Rensselaer School of Architecture · Troy, New York, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch.
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus6 semesters (4 semesters with advanced standing)
- Tuition
- $66,300per year, 2026-2027
About this program
Three-year professional master's open to applicants with a bachelor's degree in any field, with an advanced standing option; includes a two-semester stay at CASE in Brooklyn.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Rensselaer School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page describes a three-year NAAB-accredited professional degree program.“The Master of Architecture program is a three-year, NAAB-accredited professional degree program in architecture. It is open to applicants with a bachelor’s degree in any discipline or field of study.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 1979/80; last reaffirmation 2025; next team visit 2033.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2032
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 6 semesters (4 semesters with advanced standing)
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Troy campus (Greene Building)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate tuition in the financial-aid cost of attendance; institute-wide graduate figureTuition · mandatory | $66,300per year, 2026-2027 | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Part-time graduate tuition, institute-wideTuition · mandatory | $2,760per credit, 2026-2027 | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)