Architecture Schools

Bachelor’s degree

Bachelor of Arts or Science in Architecture

Portland State University · School of Architecture · Portland, Oregon, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science in Architecture
Pathway
Pre-professionalStated for United States
Format
On campusfour-year sequence of required, thematic design studios
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Four-year undergraduate architecture major built on a sequence of design studios, with selective entry to a Professional Track in years three and four after a portfolio review.

Subject
Architecture
Department
School of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
Pathway
Pre-professionalA first stage. The source says further study or a further qualification is needed before registration or licensure.
Why we classify it this way
The School describes its undergraduate degree as pre-professional, distinct from its professionally accredited Master of Architecture.“including a pre-professional undergraduate degree in Architecture, a professional accredited Master of Architecture”Source
Previous architecture degree required
No
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Entry from secondary schoolfour-year sequence of required, thematic design studios–Normal PSU admissions process; entry to the Professional Track (years 3 and 4) depends on a second-year portfolio review.Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
four-year sequence of required, thematic design studios
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Portland State University campusShattuck Hall, 1914 SW Park Ave, Portland, OR 97201

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio depends on routeNo portfolio for freshman or sophomore entry; a portfolio is reviewed for entry to the Professional Track in year three.
Interview
Not published
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction