Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (Professional)
Otago Polytechnic · Architecture (Otago Polytechnic, Dunedin) · Dunedin, New Zealand
- Official award
- Master of Architecture (Professional)MArchP
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for New Zealand
- Format
- On campusFull-time 2 years, part-time 4 years
- Tuition
- NZ$10,005per year, First year (academic year not stated on page)
About this program
Two-year Master of Architecture (Professional) taught in Dunedin, described by Otago Polytechnic as the only programme of its kind in the South Island.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Architecture (Otago Polytechnic, Dunedin)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- NZRAB lists the Otago Polytechnic Master of Architecture (Professional) as a recognised qualification for initial registration.“Otago Polytechnic — Master of Architecture (Professional)”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- The page says graduates need an approved period of practical experience and then the professional practice interview; accreditation is described as subject to ANZ APAP.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | Full-time 2 years / part-time 4 years | – | Undergraduate architecture degree (or an equivalent)Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) accredited-qualifications list (international qualifications, New Zealand)Program accreditationFull statusNZ
Scope: Otago Polytechnic MArchP, commencement year 2025 in the AACA international qualifications table (list updated September 2026)
Verified in official recordNew Zealand Registered Architects Board (NZRAB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusNZ
Scope: Otago Polytechnic Master of Architecture (Professional) is on NZRAB list of degrees recognised for Pathway 1 registration
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Full-time 2 years, part-time 4 years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Dunedin campus
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Approximate first year tuition feeTuition | NZ$10,005per year, First year (academic year not stated on page) | Student category not stated beside the figure | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)