Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture

Norwich University · School of Architecture + Art · Northfield, Vermont, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campus1 to 3 years depending on educational background
Tuition
$961per credit, 2026-27

About this program

NAAB-accredited first-professional M.Arch on campus with a one-year pathway for Norwich B.S.A.S. graduates and a three-year pathway for others.

Subject
Architecture
Department
School of Architecture + Art
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
Norwich states the M.Arch is accredited by NAAB and that both pathways are approved by NAAB; NAAB directory lists it as accredited.“The M.Arch. degree is accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Depends on route
Applicants without an architecture degree
Yes
Further professional requirements
An accredited first professional degree is a requirement for licensure in most states; passing the ARE is commonly the final step.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)M.Arch. I pathway: one year35Norwich B.S.A.S. (or equivalent undergraduate degree in Architecture)Source
Prior degree in another subjectM.Arch. III pathway: three years (transfer credit may shorten)84undergraduate degree not equivalent to the Norwich B.S.A.S.Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture (M.Arch. I and M.Arch. III pathways), Norwich University (NAAB program record). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2025-12-31.

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2025

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
1 to 3 years depending on educational background
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Northfield campus158 Harmon Drive

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
On-campus graduate student tuition per credit, university-wide on-campus graduate figureTuition · mandatory$961per credit, 2026-27All students19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction