Master’s degree
Architecture, M.Arch
Northeastern University · School of Architecture, College of Arts, Media and Design · Boston, Massachusetts, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus1-Year Track: 32 credits; 2-Year Track: 60 credits; 3-Year Track: 100 credits
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
NAAB-accredited, STEM-designated professional M.Arch on the Boston campus with one-, two- and three-year tracks depending on prior degree.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture, College of Arts, Media and Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page calls the M.Arch NAAB-accredited and professional; NAAB lists it as accredited.“The Master of Architecture (MArch) is a NAAB-accredited, STEM-designated program”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Depends on route
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | One-year track | 32 | BS in Architecture from Northeastern; or professional B.Arch from an accredited North American program with IDP-approved experienceSource |
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | Two-year track | 60 | BS in Architecture or equivalent from another US institution, or B.Arch from an institution outside the U.S.; portfolio requiredSource |
| Prior degree in another subject | Three-year track | 100 | students without a pre-professional bachelor's degree in architectureSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, Northeastern University (NAAB program record). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2026-12-31.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2026
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 1-Year Track: 32 credits; 2-Year Track: 60 credits; 3-Year Track: 100 credits
- Thesis or dissertation
- students participate in a one-year independent Masters Research project developing a shared body of research that informs an independent Design Thesis
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Boston campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio depends on routeAll applicants to the 2-year program must submit a portfolio.
- Interview
- Not published
- Academic prerequisites
- Two-year track: evidence of sufficient coursework in building technology.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)