Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture

North Dakota State University · Department of Architecture and Interior Design · Fargo, North Dakota, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campusaccelerated 4+1; applicants without the NDSU pre-professional degree require at least 2 years
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Professional master of architecture, traditionally a fifth year after the NDSU BS in Architecture and ending in a design thesis; applicants from other programs usually need at least two years.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Department of Architecture and Interior Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
NDSU states the M.Arch is a professional degree accredited by NAAB.“Degree earned: Master of Architecture (professional)”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Yes
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)one year (4+1) for NDSU BS graduates; at least two years for others30pre-professional degree in architectureSource

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture, Fargo campus (NAAB Program Directory entry: North Dakota State University, Master of Architecture; status "Accredited"; last reaffirmation 2018; next team visit 2027)

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2026

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
accelerated 4+1; applicants without the NDSU pre-professional degree require at least 2 years
Thesis or dissertation
design thesis project
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Fargo campus (Renaissance Hall and Klai Hall)650 Northern Pacific Avenue, Fargo, ND 58102

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requiredApplicants submit a portfolio in addition to transcripts and course syllabi when requested.
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Pre-professional degree in architecture

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes.

Sources and how this was checked