Bachelor’s degree
Architecture BA
Newcastle University · School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape · Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Architecture BA (Honours)BA
- Pathway
- Pre-professionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campusFull time: 3 years
- Tuition
- £10,050per year, 2027-28
About this program
Three-year full-time design-based architecture degree at Newcastle, entered through UCAS, forming the first stage of the UK architecture route.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
- Pathway
- Pre-professionalA first stage. The source says further study or a further qualification is needed before registration or licensure.
- Why we classify it this way
- The ARB transition guidance says an applicant holding only a UK Part 1 still needs a master's-level qualification (or old Part 2) and a practice qualification.“If you have a UK Part 1 only You will need: An accredited Master’s level qualification that encompasses the Academic Outcomes or an old Part 2 qualification”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- ARB guidance: an applicant with only a UK Part 1 still needs a master's-level qualification (or old Part 2) and a practice qualification.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | Full time: 3 years | – | A-Level: AAA; IB: 36 points (2027 entry)Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 1 BA (Hons) Architecture, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Bachelor of Arts with Honours in Architecture, Part 1, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Full time: 3 years
- Intakes
- September 2027
- Campus
- Newcastle upon Tyne campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio depends on routePortfolio of artwork requested from applicants who are not studying Art or Design at A Level, BTEC or Higher Level IB.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- A-Level: AAA; IB: 36 points (2027 entry)
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition fee (Year 1), full-time, HomeTuition | £10,050per year, 2027-28 | Home students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition fee (Year 1), full-time, InternationalTuition | £30,900per year, 2027-28 | International students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)