Architecture Schools

Research doctorate (PhD)

Ph.D. in Architecture, Urbanism, and Built Environments

Morgan State University · School of Architecture and Planning · Baltimore, Maryland, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Philosophy in Architecture, Urbanism, and Built EnvironmentsPhD
Pathway
ResearchStated for United States
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Low-residency research doctorate in architecture, urbanism and built environments offered by Morgan State's School of Architecture and Planning; the page does not list research themes. The page gives no further delivery detail.

Intended audience: Mid-career professionals who want a research foundation, for example to become professors, researchers or policy analysts.

Subject
Architecture
Department
School of Architecture and Planning
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
Pathway
Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
Why we classify it this way
The page describes an advanced research-oriented doctorate for mid-career professionals.“The low-residency program provides a strong research foundation for mid-career professionals”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Depends on previous studyNot published60bachelor's degree onlySource
Depends on previous studyNot published36master's degreeSource

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Baltimore campus

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Research degree details

Department
School of Architecture and Planning
Residency expectations
Described as a low-residency program; residency details not stated on the page.

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction