Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (M.Arch)
Montana State University · School of Architecture, College of Arts and Architecture · Bozeman, Montana, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campusthree semesters (42 credits) for students who hold the prior architecture-related degree
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Professional M.Arch of design studios, advanced theory and technical courses and electives, culminating in an individual master's studio project; admission is competitive and portfolio-led.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture, College of Arts and Architecture
- Awarding body
- Montana State University
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The school calls the M.Arch a professional degree program that is fully accredited by NAAB.“a professional degree program that is fully accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Depends on route
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 42 credits over three semesters; non-MSU applicants are typically admitted provisionally, which adds one semester | 42 | four-year undergraduate degree in architectural studies or environmental designSource |
| Prior degree in another subject | three years of undergraduate architecture prerequisite coursework before graduate-level coursework | – | four-year undergraduate degree in a field unrelated to architectureSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, Montana State University. NAAB directory lists initial accreditation 1997, last reaffirmation 2023, status expiration 2030-12-31, next team visit 2031. The directory lists the Bachelor of Architecture as No Longer Accredited.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2030
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- three semesters (42 credits) for students who hold the prior architecture-related degree
- Credits
- 42 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Studio requirements
- a Comprehensive Design Studio, an Advanced Architectural Design Studio, and a Masters Studio Project
- Thesis or dissertation
- Masters Studio Project: an individual research/design studio project (Plan C professional paper or project)
- Intakes
- Fall semester
- Campus
- MSU Bozeman campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredPortfolio review is of primary importance.
- Interview
- Not published
- Academic prerequisites
- 3.0 cumulative undergraduate GPA; studio GPA of at least 3.0; minimum admissions score 7.62 on a 12-point scale
- Documents
- Graduate application, $70.00 application fee, three letters of recommendation, transcripts, portfolio
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate application feeApplication fee · mandatory | $70one-time, as published, year not stated | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)