Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (MArch)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology · Department of Architecture, School of Architecture + Planning · Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus3½ academic years of residency
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
NAAB-accredited professional M.Arch with six design studios, building technology and a graduate design thesis over 3.5 years of residency.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architecture, School of Architecture + Planning
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The department says the MArch applicant's career path is to become an architect; NAAB directory lists the MIT M.Arch as accredited.“The career path of an MArch applicant is to become an architect.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| No prior architecture degree needed | 3½ academic years of residency | – | –Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, MIT (NAAB program record). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2030-12-31.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2030
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 3½ academic years of residency
- Studio requirements
- Six architectural design studios (3 core studios and 3 research studios)
- Campus attendance
- Those who are admitted to MArch require 3½ academic years of residency to fulfill the degree requirements.
- Thesis or dissertation
- Graduate Design Thesis (4.ThG)
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Cambridge campus77 Massachusetts Avenue
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredPortfolio (or writing sample as appropriate, such as SMArchS HTC, and PhD programs) is an application item.
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- January 7, 2027 (11:59 p.m. EST): Applications due for all programs
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application fee (Architecture Graduate Application)Application fee · mandatory | $90one-time, 2027 entry | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)