Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture (Track I and Track II)

Massachusetts College of Art and Design · Architecture (Department of Architecture) · Boston, Massachusetts, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campusTrack I: 102 credits; Track II: 60 credits
Tuition
$945per credit, 2026-27

About this program

NAAB-accredited professional M.Arch with a 102-credit Track I (including a pre-professional sequence) and a 60-credit Track II for applicants with a pre-professional degree.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Architecture (Department of Architecture)
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
The school states the two M.Arch tracks are NAAB-accredited and lead to ARE eligibility through NCARB; NAAB directory lists the M.Arch as accredited.“MassArt offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Depends on route
Applicants without an architecture degree
Yes
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior degree in another subjectTrack I102non-pre-professional degree + 42 pre-professional credits + 60 graduate creditsSource
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)Track II60pre-professional degreeSource

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture Track I (102 credits) and Track II (60 credits), MassArt (NAAB program record). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2031-12-31.

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2031

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Track I: 102 credits; Track II: 60 credits
Thesis or dissertation
Thesis I 6cr
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Boston campus621 Huntington Ave

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Graduate tuition, per credit (rate for most graduate and post-baccalaureate programs; MArch tracks are listed on the page)Tuition$945per credit, 2026-27All students19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.

Sources and how this was checked