Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Architecture MArch (part-time)

Liverpool John Moores University · Liverpool School of Art and Design · Liverpool, England, United Kingdom

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
MArch ArchitectureMArch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
Format
On campus4 years part-time
Tuition
£7,530per year, 2027/28

About this program

Part-time four-year Master of Architecture at LJMU's Mount Pleasant campus (2027/28 entry page); a full-time two-year route is described on LJMU's 2026 course page.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Liverpool School of Art and Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
The ARB transition guidance says an applicant holding a UK Part 1 and Part 2 still needs a practice-level qualification (outgoing Part 3).“If you have a UK Part 1 and a UK Part 2 You will need a practice level qualification or an outgoing Part 3.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Yes
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published
Further professional requirements
ARB guidance: an applicant with UK Part 1 and Part 2 still needs a practice-level qualification (outgoing Part 3) to register.Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK

    Scope: Part 2 M.Arch, Liverpool John Moores University

  • Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK

    Scope: Master of Architecture in Architecture, Part 2, ARB Schedule 1

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Part-time
Duration
4 years part-time
Intakes
September 2027
Campus
Mount Pleasant campus

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio required
Interview
Interview required

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Part-time per year, HomeTuition£7,530per year, 2027/28Home19 October 2026Source

Calculated tuition total: £30,120 (Home students). Calculated from published annual tuition for 2027/28 x 4 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction