Research doctorate (PhD)
Doctoral Programme in Architecture
KTH Royal Institute of Technology · School of Architecture and Built Environment (ABE) · Stockholm, Sweden
- Official award
- PhD in Architecture (Doctoral Programme in Architecture, KTH School of Architecture)
- Pathway
- Research
- Format
- On campusFour years (full-time)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
KTH's doctoral programme in architecture is a four-year research education with specialisation areas in design, theory/history and urban design; applicants normally apply for a vacant, funded PhD position.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture and Built Environment (ABE)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- KTH Architecture describes the doctoral programme as postgraduate research education in architecture lasting four years.“A PhD-degree in Architecture consists of four full years of study.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Four years (full-time)
- Thesis or dissertation
- Most dissertations are monographs; compilation (article-based) theses also occur.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- KTH Campus, Stockholm
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- The page expects applicants to speak, read and write English at a level corresponding to English B/6; it does not state the teaching language of the programme.
- Published language requirements
- English at a level corresponding to English B/6.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not publishedRequirements differ per vacant position.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Master's degree in Architecture, or equivalent, in relevant academic fields.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Research degree details
- Department
- KTH School of Architecture
- Research themes
- architectural design
- architectural technology
- critical studies of architecture
- history and theory of architecture
- urban design
- Finding a supervisor
- Applicants normally apply for a vacant PhD position; candidates should contact a faculty member who will act as host or mentor for guest PhD students.
- Previous qualifications
- Master's degree in Architecture or equivalent.
- Study modes
- Industrial PhD students usually study part-time over eight years.
- Deadlines
- Positions are announced as vacancies, each with its own procedure; no general deadline.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Funded doctoral position (employment) or external employer Stipend
Basis not stated · Minimum four years of guaranteed funding
Eligibility: Doctoral studies in Sweden are a form of employment; funding must be guaranteed for at least four years, either through the institution (often linked to research grants) or an external employer (industrial PhD, usually part-time over 8 years).
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)