Integrated (single-cycle) qualification
Arkitektutbildning, arkitekt, 300 hp
Architecture (five-year architect programme, 300 credits)
KTH Royal Institute of Technology · School of Architecture and Built Environment (ABE) · Stockholm, Sweden
- Official award
- Arkitekt (arkitektexamen), 300 högskolepoäng
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for Sweden
- Format
- On campus5 år heltid, 300 hp; tre år på grundnivå följt av två fördjupningsår på avancerad nivå
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
A five-year architect programme: three years at first-cycle level followed by two advanced years, with project-based teaching supported by courses in architectural technology, theory and history, and art.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture and Built Environment (ABE)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Integrated (single-cycle) qualificationA single-cycle qualification entered from secondary school that the national system treats as master’s-level. It is not forced into the bachelor’s or master’s lists: the official level and entry route are shown instead.
- Official level
- Swedish Higher Education Ordinance (högskoleförordningen), Annex 2 Arkitektexamen, 300 higher education credits · Statutory degree description for the architect degree; a bachelor's degree can optionally be taken after the first three years.As stated in the source. A framework level does not make different national awards equivalent.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The school states the programme meets the EU professional qualifications directive, allowing graduates to work internationally.“Utbildningen uppfyller EU:s yrkeskvalifikationsdirektiv vilket gör att du kan jobba internationellt efter examen.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- No
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | 5 år heltid, 300 högskolepoäng | 300 | Upper-secondary qualification; special selection group via Arkitektprovet.Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Stated by the schoolEU Professional Qualifications Directive 2005/36/EC (as stated by the school)Eligibility toward registrationOther statusEU
Scope: School states the five-year architect programme meets the EU professional qualifications directive.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 5 år heltid, 300 hp; tre år på grundnivå följt av två fördjupningsår på avancerad nivå
- Credits
- 300 hp (ECTS-equivalent)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- KTH Campus, Stockholm
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- The teaching language is not stated explicitly on the Swedish programme page; 'sv' is a placeholder based on the page being published in Swedish for a separate English-taught master's.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not publishedApplicants can sit the Arkitektprovet, a special selection test.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Swedish upper-secondary qualification or equivalent.
- Tests explicitly required
- Arkitektprovet (optional special selection route).
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)